“Chicken”

When i was younger, in the earlier days of secondary school/ later days or Junior school there was a notice about a girl who had been hit by a car playing a game called “chicken”.

The game involves taking it in turns to run out in front of cars and to see who can get the closest to the car, the winners being the ones who can tag it.

Now personally this is stupid, and reminds me of one of those funny film scenes where you have someone running in a road and suddenly hit by a fuck ass big lorry out of nowhere as it speeds by. This is pretty much what happened to the girl, except it was real, and not funny.

Now  this whole thing went on for a few years of my education with notices and warnings constantly coming as people did it again and again, spaced out of course, but it always came back. That was until he died.

So his death brought the end of the “Chicken” craze at our school and it was never thought of again. Until a few weeks ago.

Im driving and a bird swoops in front of my car across the road to a branch on the other side. It almost gets hit by me. My instant thought “WTF” then Mim says “Its like that game “Chicken isn’t it?”

Over the next few weeks i saw lots of random birds doing this, they’re mental. I don’t know if they’re all suicidal or something crazy like that or whether they’re playing the game. Either way, it’s so similar, the way they wait, swoop and then perch.
Perhaps it’s them being like “Hey guys! We’re the birds here, we’re the ones related to the chickens, don’t steal our games!!” Though i doubt that….

It happened to me today as well. When i was driving back into Hamble to sort out a boat. It made me think about it, and here i am now… typing about them.
Whilst we’re on the topic of pretty much suicidal incidents on roads. Anyone noticed old people have got alot more daring / suicidal? I’ve had 3 ladies this week cross when its green, two of which i had to emergency stop for, one of whom gave me the finger, and the other one kinda went half way and then saw me and turned around and waved….

Its happened before too. I think they get old and think “IF IM GONNA DIE IM GONNA RUIN SOME YOUNG PERSONS LIFE TOO!!!”
Yeah…

Thats what they think.

About Tom Burns
I'm an online blogger currently living on the South Coast of England where I study Interactive Media at university and practice as a Freelance interactive designer. In my free time I write reviews, and share my thoughts through a range of social media outlets such as Twitter, Wordpress, and YouTube, where I am an accomplished video blogger with a subscriber-base of 11,000 and over a million total video views. As you can probably gather.. much of my focus is in the realm of Social Media, an area I hope to one day end up in!

One Response to “Chicken”

  1. doug says:

    That’s weird, because:…

    When birds are in the middle of the road and you’re driving towards them, they’ve always gotten out the way.

    But i’ve noticed over the past few months, i swear, they leave it so late to fly away that i’ve so almost hit them a few times! Maybe they’re all playing this ‘chicken’ game…

    srsly

Leave a Reply

