Rate 5 stars if you like the colour BLUE!

Have i ever blogged about people sticking “Rate 5 stars…” as an annotation? I might have… don’t care really im going to now anyway.
I HATE watching videos and then seeing “Rate 5 stars if…” pop up. It’s desperate if anything, and it just makes me NOT rate the video and in some cases leave the video page because it’s annoying.

It’s like the idiots that go around youtube posting comments like “Thanks for your comment on my last video!” when you didnt comment to make you check them out and sub or “Hey i love your channel.. subbed!” again to have the same effect.

Why can’t people treat YouTube normally and not try to game the system? People like Alex, and Dave haven’t got to where they are with the feedback by spamming channels or using such annotations, so why do people see it as a necessary?
I.Want.To.Stab.People.

About Tom Burns
I'm an online blogger currently living on the South Coast of England where I study Interactive Media at university and practice as a Freelance interactive designer. In my free time I write reviews, and share my thoughts through a range of social media outlets such as Twitter, Wordpress, and YouTube, where I am an accomplished video blogger with a subscriber-base of 11,000 and over a million total video views. As you can probably gather.. much of my focus is in the realm of Social Media, an area I hope to one day end up in!

7 Responses to Rate 5 stars if you like the colour BLUE!

  1. Dave says:

    I’ve done it before lmao!
    The problem is, it works.

  2. Dave says:

    Actually, I’ve never said ‘rate 5 stars IF…’
    I’ve just said ‘rate it you prick’ or something like that.

  3. Sophie Elizabeth says:

    I think you may have got your point at the end wrong
    “They’re nice people who stick to their own devices and make content people like…
    I.Want.To.Stab.People.”

    Don’t you mean..
    “They’re nice people who stick to their own devices and DON’T make content people like.. I.Want.To.Stab.People.”

    amused me for a while =]

    • randomprodinc says:

      Nah – By that i meant Dave & Alex make content peoplelike

      Then the i want to stab people was unrelated XD XD

  4. Minish says:

    “why do people see it as a necessary?”
    Do you mean “why do people see it as a necessity” or “why do people see it necessary”?

    More to the point, I kind of agree. Mostly, I’m not really bothered by it. I think it would really only annoy me if it were an effective method, but no one really pays it any mind so I don’t think anything of it. It’s pretty much the same as “rate, comment, favorite, and subscribe!” where people just ignore it and do what they like.

  5. doug says:

    Agree that people shouldn’t tell you to rate 5 stars, you’ll rate it depending on what you think of it.

    However, i have recently started to add ‘don’t forget to rate/comment!’ annotations because, on the advice of others [and i agree] people often just don’t think about rating/commenting unless you remind them to. And it works! But yeah, its different to telling people to like the video, and the anoying spam stuff.

    • randomprodinc says:

      At the end is fine. Im talking about where people keep it there saying “rate 5 stars for…” or “if…”

Leave a Reply

