Is demanding it really the same as getting it willingly?

A lot of people now can be seen on twitter as they upload a video asking (in some cases it doesnt even look like they’re asking) if people will RT the link.

When i see this it kinda bugs me as i just see it the same way i view the whole “rate if you” “Comment about my dog” shit that can be seen on youtube. People generally link videos on their twitter if they like them and want others to enjoy the things they like.. i for example will randomly tweet jake and amir episodes or other random things i favourite. When people link after being told to by someone or asked on twitter… isnt it less that? Hell the people RTing might not even watch it themselves..

It kinda reminds me a long time ago where i had a few people telling me i should be linking them out, and i SHOULD be tweeting and I SHOULD be letting them make videos on my channel because they were my friend… this not being one person but multiple people at different times… Is it really fair to guilt trip people in such a way or expect that? Sure friends help eachother out.. but equally you wouldnt expect someone who’s your friend to start taking advantage of you and exploiting you with that as a card for them to play whenever.

Just looked on twitter for examples of this and there are 5 of this in my own feed… Not gonna screencap anything though cause i’m not attacking anyone specific.. just generally saying this bugs me on a whole.

I can understand tweeting your own things multiple times… but expecting people to do it for you multiple times takes the piss a little bit.. I really do wonder if anyone out there that asks for it actually remembers to rate every video they watch, or comment… i know a lot of people who do it and “watch” my videos yet don’t do this themselves. Equally on twitter… lets say a high followed person requests it and gets 12 people RT, but a variation of different people each time… is that person going to return the favour?

Most likely not.

Do they care?

Probably not.

About Tom Burns
I'm an online blogger currently living on the South Coast of England where I study Interactive Media at university and practice as a Freelance interactive designer. In my free time I write reviews, and share my thoughts through a range of social media outlets such as Twitter, Wordpress, and YouTube, where I am an accomplished video blogger with a subscriber-base of 11,000 and over a million total video views. As you can probably gather.. much of my focus is in the realm of Social Media, an area I hope to one day end up in!

Leave a Reply

