3BillionClub

A few weeks ago i was asked by a friend to speak at an event he had organised for a new project of his called 3BillionClub. When asked to do so i was the first speaker to be confirmed for the evening, and i had no idea who would show up to watch me blabber on as Kristian had only just started the promotion for his event.

As time went on and it got closer to the  evening i would be speaking things slowly became more real to me. Kristian told me that the venue was 100 capacity. Something which struck a strong sounding chord in my head that rang “SHIT”. I then got sent the list of attendees he had and realised that the people attending were infact real people from real recognisable backgrounds, and whom had a solid foot in the media in their own way. This struck a different chord with me which made me suddenly wonder what i actually had to offer that these people wouldn’t have heard already, and wouldnt look at me like a complete idiot over.

I had infact been asked to talk about brand engagement with online communities such as the YouTube community based on my own experiences working with Global Cool, and ThreeMobileBuzz in the past. Things which to me had always been somewhat minor, and nothing compared to the amazing things i’d seen friends offered and given the chance to do through YouTube, yet these were things that seemed to shine through for others as good experiences for me to have under my belt.

Anyway fast tracking over to the talk. I turned up and the room slowly filled with people, and it was at this point that the calm cool frame of mind i’d maintained for so long dropped. I had a thousand worries fly into my head at once, all circulating around the single thought “I’ve not done anything like this before…. What do i actually do?”

Well this got answered pretty quickly as i was introduced pretty soon after this mini mental dilemma. I walked up, took a breath, and just spoke. I ran through the slides i’d made which contained the information on my experiences, and what i thought went well with each of them. I went through slides that contained things i thought people who have emailed me have done wrong. I even touched on Summer in the City on some slides explaining how it’d all been run off our own backs and was still successful without brands. I ran through all of these stages of slides until i hit the end slide, and next thing i knew half an hour had passed.

“Easy”

Was the thought in my head suddenly.

I then was presented with a question time slot in which people were invited to ask me questions. It was here that i discovered people do indeed have a lot to learn when it comes to online vloggers and YouTube users as many people were keen to ask me how the community worked, why i enjoyed YouTube, why i make videos etc. This was interesting to me as i found my initial thought of “I cant show them anything they;re all older and successful in their own ways” being changed to recognise that Kristian had infact asked me to talk because i could show them new things, and show them how YouTube worked in a community sense with brands.
Anyway enough about me. The evening also had three other talkers.

The fact is that this was the first time i’d had to speak in front of a group of complete strangers. In class presentations there are always the teachers, and people within class. Even at uni with presentations, whilst i don’t know some people i still know the majority. For that reason i think that was a bit harder as it was stepping out of the norm for me.

Ben Perreau went on after me. He works within Global Radio and, spoke of his experiences which had led to him being there such as working with NME. Ben also runs a fantastic music website called Gigulate which is well worth a look at!

Ben was followed by Lucian Tarnowski. Lucian founded a website called Brave New Talent, which i feel is an amazing concept. Whenever i try to explain it i leave people looking at me like i’m a mad man.. so i think it’s best you check out his website!

Finally the night was closed by Daren who spoke of his experiences over the years, and later went onto suggest an Apple boycott to get cheaper goods. Something i can’t see working seeing how stubborn Jobs is, but a clever concept none the less. It took the idea that lots of people who want a product will say they will only purchase it if given a group discount, and have it mailed to a single location. Much like whole-sale i guess.

About Tom Burns
I'm an online blogger currently living on the South Coast of England where I study Interactive Media at university and practice as a Freelance interactive designer. In my free time I write reviews, and share my thoughts through a range of social media outlets such as Twitter, Wordpress, and YouTube, where I am an accomplished video blogger with a subscriber-base of 11,000 and over a million total video views. As you can probably gather.. much of my focus is in the realm of Social Media, an area I hope to one day end up in!

Leave a Reply

