Theme Weeks

Earlier this year i uploaded 3 meme inspired videos to RandomProdInc in the space of a week. This was the first theme week i ran on my channel, the theme of course being internet memes. The week in general went well, it allowed me to make original creative parodies as can be seen with my take on David After the Dentist. I was also able to directly parody memes such as Geddan matching it to the same style as most geddan videos, and the lip sync video which contained the free flow wanna be showman style seen in most lip sync videos.

(Possibly the best freeze frame on faces ever.)

As i mentioned, the week went very well and was taken well by subscribers, and people on twitter. This showed with a distinct view rise throughout the week with people eagerly awaiting to see what memes i was going to upload next. In this sense i felt that the lip sync was a bit of a cop-out as it did not carry the same calibre as the previous two in my mind. Whilst not as good in my mind it’s done better than the others with over 10,000 views and rising!

Anyway… the purpose of this post was for me to talk about theme weeks in a broader sense rather than just a reflective one.  When i was thinking about future videos recently i found that theme weeks came to mind. The reason for this was due to the similar themes throughout various parodies and videos i’ve scripted. For example there is a set of TV Show parodies, which i’ve half filmed, and then a set of film parodies. This has led me to plan out as many possible theme weeks as possible, so that i can run one every fortnight / month depending on how active i am online (more likely a month..)
So far my themes are TV, Film and Video games. These will allow me to play about with the many costumes i’ve aquired over the past year! The first week i will put on the channel will be the TV themed week as i already have two of the parodies filmed! Just need to work on the third..
My Movie week will probably be the hardest as i’m hoping to parody this:

I think the hardest part will be finding people to participate, however i’m considering doing it at SITC. There are infact a few videos i want to get filmed at Summer in the City as the videos require high level of participants to be involved. Such as this one:

About Tom Burns
I'm an online blogger currently living on the South Coast of England where I study Interactive Media at university and practice as a Freelance interactive designer. In my free time I write reviews, and share my thoughts through a range of social media outlets such as Twitter, Wordpress, and YouTube, where I am an accomplished video blogger with a subscriber-base of 11,000 and over a million total video views. As you can probably gather.. much of my focus is in the realm of Social Media, an area I hope to one day end up in!

Leave a Reply

