The Social Network

Two weeks ago i managed to catch The Social Network as it showed in Bournemouth. I had high expectations for the film following feedback from various friends and the fact i’d been turned away twice that week due to it being sold out – I mean.. anything that sells out frequently, and has Spiderman in it has to be good, right?!

I felt my high expectations were met throughout the film as it kept me transfixed the whole way through.. There was just something about all the code that got me all..Sorry, what? But in all seriousness, the film managed to really interest me and keep me wanting to know more even after it had ended!

The film being based around Facebook gives it a bit of an extra pull point. Pretty much everyone i know (Bar my grandparents..) are on Facebook now! This gives an immediate point of relation within the film for everyone.. which just seemed to add to it. I think this is especially the case when people find themselves on it frequently. HELL, I have a tab open for Facebook right now! Afterall, Facebook appears to be everyones favourite online addiction, something that is if anything made even more appealing after you see this film.

Another pull to the film comes from the computer geek entrepreneur like style of Zuckerburg as he creates Facebook. This  is something that I’ve found seemed to interest guys who watched the film a lot more than girls. This was even mentioned by Greg James a few days ago whilst i was driving home and he mentioned how his girlfriend didnt really say much about the film after they’d watched it. As soon as he said this i found myself thinking about how when i first watched the film the girls with us didnt really say much about it after as much as the guys did!

The Social Network takes on an interesting narrative style as it constantly switches between the present day court trial of Mark Zuckerburg, and the past events described in the trial. The way in which these past events flow in chronological order creates a speed tour through the early days of Facebook for the audience. It also goes to show how something small, yet original grew at a rapid pace to become an international hit,  which was pretty cool as it illustrated all the stresses and problems that can come with creating a site like Facebook. Problems ranging from unpredictable growth speed, people constantly trying to sue you for intellectual property, and the personal choices that come between company and relationships…. Choices that in Zuckerburgs case he appear to frequently favour the company (Something that probably doesnt matter to him.. afterall! “You don’t get to 500 million friends without making a few enemies”)

The films casting….. This picture says a lot! Just look at the likeness! If you’re making a film based on real people you need likeness with how people look… you also need Justin Timberlake apparently.. who looks NOTHING like the real napster man.

Likeness aside i think the casting was pretty solid. When i heard Justin Timberlake was going to be in the film i was a bit cautious, however after watching the film I found myself believing that most of the leading cast deserved oscars for their parts in the film. Of the leading cast, Jesse Eisenburg as Mark Zuckerburg was probably the best cast role. The way he played the role of Zuckerburg made me forget he was an actor at times and believe he really was the creator of Facebook. Apparent personality traits of Zuckerburg were played perfectly and seemed to fit in well with the audiences perception of how a powerful computer geek should be presented!

All in all i found The Social Network to be an exceptional film that kept me hooked throughout! It even managed to give me a web design drive for a few hours immediately after watching it, and you don’t get that often! A film that makes you want to design things and do work… INSANE!

10/10

 

About Tom Burns
I'm an online blogger currently living on the South Coast of England where I study Interactive Media at university and practice as a Freelance interactive designer. In my free time I write reviews, and share my thoughts through a range of social media outlets such as Twitter, Wordpress, and YouTube, where I am an accomplished video blogger with a subscriber-base of 11,000 and over a million total video views. As you can probably gather.. much of my focus is in the realm of Social Media, an area I hope to one day end up in!

One Response to The Social Network

  1. sarahsaysstuff says:

    part of me wants to say your wrong and say its my fave film, but i got bored easily with it. Maybe if i made websites or something i would have found it more interesting.. kinda bored me though. I like your reviews, the picture comparison is funny

Leave a Reply

