Due Date

“The next hangover!”
“Funnier than the hangover”
“Due Date are left-over scraps of Hangover”
“The Hangover 2!”

All of the above, are comments that i’ve seen made about Due Date since its release. It seems that The Hangover is everyones favourite comparison point for this film, possibly due to Zach Galifianakis’ role in both of the films. Either way, I found this set up some high expectations for me as i loved The Hangover and thought Zach was awesome in it! So to see a film with him and Robert Downey Jr. in the leading roles? Pretty exciting concept.

Due Date see’s father to be Peter Highman(Robert Downey Jr) get pushed through a series of unfortunate events as he attempts to make his way to the birth of his child. Each of these events is of course brought along by Ethan Tremblay (Zach Galifianakis), an aspiring “actor” on his way to LA. The film see’s a variety of hurdles get in Peters way from being added to no fly lists, to driving off a bridge in a car, events that all occur as a result of him meeting Ethan.

The film itself was hilarious, I thought that Downey Jr and Galifiankis (I hate typing that name) worked well together in the film. If you like Robert in Iron Man and Zach in The Hangover then you’ll love them in this film as it draws together the best of both worlds in an amazing comedy environment. This combined with the company of a dog, and a pot of human Ashes in a coffee jar just made the film even more amusing!

I don’t think it is anything like The Hangover as i felt it lacked the random unexpected twists that the hangover had, for example with the hangover i didnt have a clue what was going to happen next then BAM! Tiger BAM! Baby! BAM! Crazy asian man! Whereas with this film i found a fair few of the comedy scenes to be a bit predictable, such as getting arrested on a plane and crashing a car.. all things that were bound to happen in a film where he struggles to get to the birth of his child!

Comparisons aside, Due Date was an amazing film and had me laughing throughout. I think that the main cast worked together perfectly and the plotline of the film was one that keeps you wanting to see where they’ll end up next! I just think it’s a shame that it carries an inescapable compairison with another comedy hit!

7/10

About Tom Burns
I'm an online blogger currently living on the South Coast of England where I study Interactive Media at university and practice as a Freelance interactive designer. In my free time I write reviews, and share my thoughts through a range of social media outlets such as Twitter, Wordpress, and YouTube, where I am an accomplished video blogger with a subscriber-base of 11,000 and over a million total video views. As you can probably gather.. much of my focus is in the realm of Social Media, an area I hope to one day end up in!

3 Responses to Due Date

  1. Ben Wright says:

    Saw it last night with my gf, pissed myself when he walked in on the black baby. Great review.

  2. Jason says:

    All i’ve seen for this film are hangover comparisons.. I agree that it isnt a hangover though. Thought the film was a bit sucky and tried to hard at times so certainly isnt anything like the hangover

Leave a Reply

