Donkey Kong – Childhood years relived as a teenager!

When I was younger I didn’t play many video games other than occasional times sat down chilling with my Dad. I’d generally demand one of three games around then, these being Mario, Sonic, and Donkey Kong (Obviously something about side-scrolling gaming interested me as a child!). Back then I don’t think i had much idea as to what was going on other than the general move left to right thing that goes on in all the games, so unfortunately didn’t appreciate the NES version for what it was.. This however changed as the game was released on Gameboy Colour in 2000, a year that saw me frantically mashing buttons to get all of the letters to make up KONG, and swing across vines with precise timings!

With Donkey Kong being a game I’d enjoyed in ways through various points in my life, the announcement that it was being released on the Wii filled me with some joy. The Wii game promises to bring new levels and environments to explore, along with the next gen graphics that would be expected with a Wii release. One new feature that is being brought onto the Wii release is a two player mode that will allow both DK and Diddy to be controlled at the same time, rather than the players needing to switch between the two to progress through the level. The Two player aspect is something I’m personally looking forward to as I love playing through co-op style levels with friends! It’s part of the reason I found myself falling in love with Little Big Planet so much!

The game gets release on December 3rd, and I intend to review the game around then so you can expect a full review and rating on the overall gameplay after i’ve had a bit of time bashing through the levels! My only hope right now is that it maintains some of the roots that made it so popular with me, however this is something I’m not worrying about too much thanks to the E3 footage of the game!

About Tom Burns
I'm an online blogger currently living on the South Coast of England where I study Interactive Media at university and practice as a Freelance interactive designer. In my free time I write reviews, and share my thoughts through a range of social media outlets such as Twitter, Wordpress, and YouTube, where I am an accomplished video blogger with a subscriber-base of 11,000 and over a million total video views. As you can probably gather.. much of my focus is in the realm of Social Media, an area I hope to one day end up in!

One Response to Donkey Kong – Childhood years relived as a teenager!

  1. fatso786 says:

    I always use to play Donkey Kong when I was kid too. Still have my games as well as my gameboy, pocket gameboy, gameboy advance and gameboy colour somewhere 😀 Didn’t know it was being released on the Wii. Can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

